Messe “Cum Jubilo” pour choeur de barytons et orgue, Op. 11 [19:51]
Houston Chamber Choir
Ken Cowan, Eduardo Tercero

I. Kyrie 3:44
II. Gloria 6:12
III. Sanctus 3:52
IV. Benedictus 1:59
V. Agnus Dei 4:04

Quatre Motets sur des thèmes grégoriens pour choeur a cappella, Op.10 [8:34]
Houston Chamber Choir

I. Ubi caritas 2:48
II. Tota pulchra es 2:06
III. Tu es Petrus 1:01
IV. Tantum ergo 2:39

Notre Père pour choeur a cappella [1:30]
Houston Chamber Choir

Requiem pour soli, choeurs et orgue, Op. 9 [38:34]
Houston Chamber Choir
Cecilia Duarte, Ken Cowan, Norman Fischer

I. Introit 3:32
II. Kyrie 3:46
III. Domine Jesu Christe 8:34
IV. Sanctus & Benedictus 3:06
V. Pie Jesu 3:14
VI. Agnus Dei 3:48
VII. Lux aeterna 4:14
VIII. Libera me 5:33
IX. In Paradisum 2:47

RELEASED: April 5, 2019

Duruflé: Complete Choral Works

The choral works of Duruflé, like his organ works, are small in number but beautifully crafted. Frequently written and rewritten until he was completely satisfied, he was a composer who rethought and reconfigured his music right up to the moment he had to let go of it. Often described as a man out of step with his times, his pieces look back to Gregorian chant and plainsong at a time when the musical life of his home city of Paris was steeped in radical new compositional ideas – a testament perhaps to Duruflé’s enduring love of France’s choral heritage.

In a new recording produced by Grammy® winning producer Blanton Alspaugh, the Houston Chamber Choir are led by artistic director Robert Simpson on their first release with Signum Records.

Houston Chamber Choir, Ken Cowan & Robert Simpson

...sensitive music-making...above all other realizations of Duruflé that I know.
— Dale Warland

...this sumptuous new release captures its unique qualities better than any...a superb recording to be treasured.
— Simon Carrington

Underwriters for Duruflé: Complete Choral Works

Irving Schweppe
Janice Barrow
Letitia L. Knapp
Karen and Harry Pinson
Fairfax and Risher Randall
Judy and Charles Tate
Sally and Michael Clark
Mandy and William McKenzie
Anne Bushman
Frank Hood
Charlotte Jones
Nick Shumway and Robert Mayott
Jim Murdaugh and Gary Smith
Carol and Andy Vickery
Sonia Sheely and Randolph Wagner
Carol and Paul Lutz

Adele and Tony Gorody, Jay Jackson, Nancy Younger Kruka and Veet Kruka,
Frank Busch, Marilyn and Theodore Flick, Jeanie and Martus Miley, Sharon Prince,
Jack Byrom, Barbara and Will Hamilton, Phyllis Harris, Kathy and Andre Jackson, Dorothy and Joe McLemore, Martha Palmer, Elizabeth Tait,
Lynn Lamont and William Anderson, Nell Richardson and Sidney Buchanan, Denise and Steve Godowns, Jenny and Jeff Van Hal, Monica and Eiki Isomura, Lannis Kirkland, Lauren Pastorek, Patrick Schneider, Briana and Kevin Kerner, Rameen Chaharbaghi, Martha Frances, Stacey Franklin, Carol and Jerry Gruber, Kathleen Ruhleder, Anne Schnoebelen, Ryan Stickney,
Catherine and Dana Whitney, L. Wayne Ashley,
Kelli and Scott Lawless, Jeffrey Ragsdale, Daniela D’Inguillo